What is a Texas Level 2 security license?

Level II (Level 2) Non Commissioned Security, or Unarmed Security, is the introductory 6-hour class that covers the basics of becoming a Non Commissioned or Unarmed Security Guard in Texas. This security training course provides the Level 2 training as required by the State of Texas.

What is a security Level 2 certification?

The Level II Training Course and test is required of all non-commissioned security officers, commissioned security officers and personal protection officers. This training course must be administered by a licensed Level III or Level IV Training School and taught by a licensed Level III or Level IV Instructor.

What can a Level 2 security guard carry in Texas?

As a Level 2 Non-commissioned Security Officer you’re allowed to carry the following:

  • Flashlight.
  • Handcuffs.
  • Pepper Spray (if certified)- lots of wrong information being out about OC- ask us we will set you straight.
  • Conductive Energy Weapon (license not required but training is highly recommend)
  • Stun guns.

What is security officer level 2?

Security Officer Level 2

An employee at this level performs work above and beyond the skills of a Security Officer Level 1. and to the level of their skills, competence and training.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Your question: How do I know if my ebook is DRM protected?

How do I get a Level 2 security license in Texas?

The individual will need to complete an approved training program at Level II. Required topics include 1) state law and Board rule and 2) note taking and report writing. The program will culminate in a test (https://www.dps.texas.gov/rsd/psb/).

Can a felon be a security guard in Texas?

Are criminals working security guard jobs? Short answer: Yes… and possibly working on your property right now! DPS-RSD will allow and license convicted criminals and non-Us citizens to work security. … If you are a convicted felon and your crime is over ten years, the state of Texas will license you with no problem.

How do you get a Level 4 security license?

In order to receive your Level IV Certificate you must have completed Level II and Level III first. The PSB Commission states that an applicant for a Personal Protection authorization must have been already issued a Level III Commission license.

What caliber can a security guard carry?

You could possess a Ruger P firearm when working as a security officer. They are available in various caliber sizes, such as . 45 auto, 9mm or . 40 S&W.

How much does an armed security guard Make in Texas?

While ZipRecruiter is seeing salaries as high as $40,315 and as low as $15,949, the majority of Armed Security Guard salaries currently range between $23,037 (25th percentile) to $31,011 (75th percentile) with top earners (90th percentile) making $36,770 annually in Texas.

Can security guards carry shotguns in Texas?

Non-commissioned security officers are prohibited from carrying a firearm while on duty. … The License to Carry a Handgun Statute, Texas Government Code Chapter 411, Subchapter H, expressly provides the license does not exempt a security officer from the duty to comply with Chapter 1702 or the Texas Penal Code.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Frequent question: Do securities lawyers make good money?

What is the highest paying armed security job?

Private Police

A private police officer made the list for the highest-paid armed security jobs. Individuals who pursue this career have similar responsibilities to a regular, government-hired police officer.

How much is a Level 3 security license Texas?

REQUALIFICATION CLASS: ONLY $75.00 !! In accordance with the rules set forth in Chapter 1702 of the Texas Occupations Code, DPS-RSD requires that you attend and submit your renewal to them no later than 30 days prior to your license expiration date.

How long does it take to get a Texas Guard card?

Once hired, a person will go through the necessary steps of being fingerprinted, trained and apply for registration. The entire security guard training and licensing process can take between one and two months from the time a person is hired, to when they receive their registration card (pocket card) from the state.