Which of the following classes were protected under the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

When originally passed in 1968, the Fair Housing Act only covered four protective classes: race, color, religion, and national origin. Sex was added as a protective class in 1974. In 1988, disability and familial status were included as protective classes as well.

What are the protected classes under the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin.

Which of the following protected classes were added in the Fair Housing Amendments Act 1988?

As amended in 1988, the Fair Housing Act prohibits discrimination on the basis of 7 protected classes. The fair housing protected classes are familial status, disability, religion, race, skin color, nationality, and sex.

What are the 7 protected classes?

At the federal level, there are seven classes: race, color, religion, sex, national origin, familial status, and handicap (referred to as disability in California).

IT IS INTERESTING:  What are some examples of consumer protection?

Who is protected under the Fair Housing Act?

California fair housing laws prohibit discrimination because of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, familial status, and disability—just like federal law. In addition, California outlaws discrimination in housing because of a person’s: Source of Income.

What led to the Fair Housing Act of 1968?

With the cities rioting after Dr. King’s assassination, and destruction mounting in every part of the United States, the words of President Johnson and Congressional leaders rang the Bell of Reason for the House of Representatives, who subsequently passed the Fair Housing Act.

What two protected classes were added in 1988?

The protected classes of handicap and familial status were added in 1988. The seven protected classes became race, color, religion, national origin, sex, handicap and familial status.

Does the fair housing Amendment Act define occupancy limits?

Instead of adopting a national occupancy standard, the FHA defers to state and local law by providing that nothing in fair housing law “limits the applicability of any reasonable local, State, or Federal restrictions regarding the maximum number of occupants permitted to occupy a dwelling.” However, fair housing law

Which is one of the three broad purposes of the Fair Housing Act?

Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, com monly known as the Fair Housing Act, prohibits discrimination in the sale, rental, and financing of dwellings based on race, color, religion, sex, and national origin. In 1988, Congress passed the Fair Housing Amendments Act.

What are the 11 legally protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.
IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the most secure job right now?

What are the 12 protected characteristics?

Protected characteristics

These are age, disability, gender reassignment, marriage and civil partnership, pregnancy and maternity, race, religion or belief, sex, and sexual orientation.

What groups are not protected under Title VII?

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 prohibits discrimination in virtually every employment circumstance on the basis of race, color, religion, gender, pregnancy, or national origin. In general, Title VII applies to employers with 15 or more employees.