You asked: What is protected area network?

The term “protected area” also includes Marine Protected Areas, the boundaries of which will include some area of ocean, and Trans boundary Protected Areas that overlap multiple countries which remove the borders inside the area for conservation and economic purposes. …

What is protected area network in India?

Details of the Protected Areas (PA) of India (As of July, 2016)

Type of PAs Number Area (km2)
National parks 103 40500.13
Wildlife sanctuaries 537 118005.30
Conservation reserves 67 2349.38
Community reserves 26 46.93

What is protected area network Upsc?

India has a network of 903 Protected Areas covering about 5% of its total geographic area. India has systematically designated its Protected Areas in four legal categories — National Parks, Wildlife Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves under the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972.

What is the purpose of protected areas?

Protected areas provide for life’s essentials. They protect natural resources that are critical to many people on earth. Within these areas, genetic diversity is permitted to evolve in response to natural selection pressures. These genetic resources are a source of many new products.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Do homeland security carry guns?

What is a protected area according to IUCN?

Today protected areas are formally indicated as “land and/or sea areas specifically dedicated to the protection and preservation of biological diversity and related natural and cultural resources.”

What comes under protected area?

India has the following kinds of protected areas, in the sense of the word designated by IUCN:

  • National parks.
  • Wildlife sanctuaries.
  • Biosphere reserves.
  • Reserved and protected forests.
  • Conservation reserves and community reserves.
  • Private protected areas.
  • Conservation areas.

What are the global categories of protected areas?

IUCN Protected Area Management Categories

  • IUCN Category Ia – Strict Nature Reserve (Areas)
  • IUCN Category Ib – Wilderness Area (Areas)
  • IUCN Category II – National Park (Areas)
  • IUCN Category III – Natural Monument or Feature (Areas)
  • IUCN Category IV – Habitat / Species Management Area (Areas)

Why is it important to protect natural areas?

Protected areas help to mitigate extreme weather events, enhance carbon storage, and provide space for plants and animals to adapt to a changing climate. 4. To maintain functioning ecosystems and the benefits they provide. Protected areas provide clean air and water, healthy soils, wild foods and medicines.

Why is it important to protect local natural areas?

Preservation of natural areas also provides many practical benefits. For example, natural areas contain the biological raw material necessary for the development of products that could greatly benefit the health, diversity and genetic well-being of man.

Do protected areas work?

Under certain conditions, even “paper parks” have a pivotal role in conserving biodiversity. However, in the medium to long term, protected areas only work if they really are protected.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What is the difference between a security and a non security?

What are government protected areas?

Protected area establishment and management

A protected area is a clearly defined geographical space, recognised, dedicated and managed through legal or other effective means to achieve the long-term conservation of nature with associated ecosystem services and cultural values.

How many types of protected areas are there?

There are 4 categories of the Protected Areas viz, National Parks, Sanctuaries, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves. Sanctuary is an area which is of adequate ecological, faunal, floral, geomorphological, natural or zoological significance.