Does a designated safeguarding lead have to be a teacher?

Does the designated safeguarding lead need to be a teacher?

The Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL) must be an appropriate senior member of staff, from the school or college leadership team. … The Designated Safeguarding Lead need not be a teacher but must have the status and authority within the management structure to carry out the duties of the post.

Who can be a designated safeguarding lead?

The designated safeguarding lead is the person appointed to take lead responsibility for child protection issues in school. The person fulfilling this role must be a senior member of the school’s leadership team, and the DSL role must be set out in the post holder’s job description.

What qualifications do you need to be a safeguarding lead?

DSLs for schools should:

Hold a Level Three Designated Safeguarding Lead Training qualification. Complete Safeguarding Children Training (refresher course) every 2 years and have easy access to the relevant resources. Ensure that there is an effective child protection policy and staff code of conduct in place.

Does a DSL have to be a teacher?

The DfE confirmed that the DSL doesn’t have to have qualified teacher status or be a full-time employee. However, there must be child protection arrangements and processes in place for when the DSL is not present.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Why is protecting yourself important?

What are the 5 R’s of safeguarding?

All staff have a responsibility to follow the 5 R’s (Recognise, Respond, Report, Record & Refer) whilst engaged on PTP’s business, and must immediately report any concerns about learners welfare to a Designated Officer.

What should you avoid if a child makes a disclosure?


  • promise confidentiality.
  • ask leading or probing questions.
  • investigate.
  • repeatedly question or ask the girl to repeat the disclosure.
  • discuss the disclosure with people who do not need to know.
  • delay in reporting the disclosure to the Safeguarding team.

What is Level 3 safeguarding training?

This course is designed for people who work around children and need a strong knowledge of safeguarding. This course goes further into safeguarding procedure and the ways in which you should tackle suspected abuse to safeguard children from future harm.

What qualifications do I need to be a DSL?

What qualifications do I need? To become a DSL for your organisation, you must have first completed Safeguarding Awareness Training (previously known as Level 2). You will then need to complete a Designated Safeguarding Lead Course, and be fully confident that you can carry out the role as described in the course.

Who needs Level 4 safeguarding training?

Who Should Attend? Safeguarding Level 4 is designed for named doctors, named nurses, named health visitors, named midwives (in organisations delivering maternity services), named health professionals in ambulance organisations and named GPs for Organisations commissioning Primary Care.

What is Level 2 safeguarding training?

Safeguarding children level 2 is for non-clinical and clinical staff who, within their role, have contact (however small) with children and young people, parents/carers or adults who may pose a risk to children.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Quick Answer: What are the effect of Globalisation on food security?

Who appoints the DSL?

Who can be a DSL? Governing bodies, proprietors and management committees should ensure an appropriate senior memeber of staff, from the setting, school or college leadership team, is appointed to the role of designated safeguarding lead.

What does DSL stand for safeguarding?

Every organisation that works with children needs to have someone that takes the lead on safeguarding and child protection. We refer to them as a nominated child protection lead but they may also be known as: Designated Safeguarding Officer (DSO) Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL)