What protected class was added to fair housing in 1974?

In 1974, the Fair Housing Act was amended to prohibit discrimination on the basis of sex. In 1988, another amendment added the disabled and families with children to the list of protected classes.

What was added to the Fair Housing Act in 1974?

In 1974, the act was amended to add sex discrimination to the list of prohibited activities. The last major change to the act occurred in 1988 when it was amended to prohibit discrimination on the additional grounds of physical and mental handicap, as well as familial status.

Which protected class was added to the housing and Community Development Act of 1974?

Section 109 of the HCD Act of 1974, Title I, prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, national origin, disability, age, religion, and sex within Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) programs or activities.

What are the 7 protected classes for fair housing?

The Fair Housing Act makes it illegal to harass persons because of race, color, religion, sex, disability, familial status, or national origin. Among other things, this forbids sexual harassment.

IT IS INTERESTING:  What does a security level describe under ISPS?

Which additional protections were included following the amendment of the Fair Housing Act?

The Fair Housing Amendments Act (FHAA) was signed into law on September 13, 1988 and became effective on March 12, 1989. The Act amended Title VIII of the Civil Rights Act of 1968, which prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, religion, sex or national origin in housing sales, rentals or financing.

What is the Mrs Murphy exemption?

The Mrs. Murphy exemption applies to property owners that live in a dwelling with four or less families living independently of each other. If a tenant asserts their rights and claims a violation of the Fair Housing Act, a property owner may use this exemption as a defense.

What protected classes were added in 1988?

The Act made it illegal to discriminate in the sale or rental of housing on the grounds of race, color, religion, or national origin.

How can landlords can comply with the Fair Housing Act?

Be consistent in screening tenants, and have the same qualifying standards for every tenant. Go through the exact same practices for each prospective tenant who applies to rent your property. Require the same information, documents, referrals, and fees. And treat everyone with respect and dignity.

Which was the first housing discrimination protection act?

The Fair Housing Act of 1968 prohibited discrimination concerning the sale, rental and financing of housing based on race, religion, national origin or sex.

What are the 11 legally protected classes?

Federal protected classes include:

  • Race.
  • Color.
  • Religion or creed.
  • National origin or ancestry.
  • Sex (including gender, pregnancy, sexual orientation, and gender identity).
  • Age.
  • Physical or mental disability.
  • Veteran status.
IT IS INTERESTING:  Are excess cash and marketable securities included in operating working capital?

What classes are not protected under federal law?

Under federal law, employers cannot discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, age, or disability.

What are the seven protected classes?

The new law expands the definition of “source of income” under California law. To briefly review, the federal Fair Housing Act (FHA) has seven protected classes, which include: race, color, religion, national origin, sex, disability, and familial status.