Which act has been passed by the government to protect wildlife?

The Animal Welfare Act: Signed into law in 1966, the Animal Welfare Act (AWA) is the primary federal animal protection law.

What is the significance of the Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

India’s Wildlife Protection Act of 1972 is a comprehensive piece of legislation that regulates sanctuaries, national parks, and zoos among other protected locations. Its primary aim is to curb the illegal trade in wildlife and the derivative parts.

What is the Wildlife Protection Act?

The Act helps to protect the environment from risks associated with the international movement of wildlife. … It is also how Australia meets its obligations under CITES , an international agreement to regulate wildlife trade between countries.

In which state wildlife protection Act is not applicable?

Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972: The Act was enacted for the protection of plants and animal species. It extends to the whole of India except the State of Jammu and Kashmir. Prior to this legislation, India had only five designated national parks. At present, there are 101 National Parks in India.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How do accessory eye structures protect the eye?

Why has government made laws to protect wild animals?

The Government of India enacted Wildlife (Protection) Act 1972 with the objective to effectively protect the wild life of this country and to control poaching, smuggling and illegal trade in wildlife and its derivatives. Explanation: your simple answer is becoz, they extinct…

What are the drawbacks of Wildlife Protection Act?

Some of the major drawbacks of the Act include.

are permissible which very often serve as a tool for illegal trading. No coverage of foreign endangered wildlife. Pitiable condition of wildlife in mobile zoos. Little emphasis on protection of plant genetic resources .

Which of the following is protected under Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972 is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted for protection of plants and animal species. Before 1972, India had only five designated national parks.

Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972.

The Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972
Enacted 9 September 1972
Status: In force

Which of the following is have been provided for in the Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

Both National Parks and Wildlife Sanctuaries have been provided for in the Wildlife (Protection ) Act, 1972. The Act provides for four type of protected areas viz. Wildlife Sanctuaries, National Parks, Conservation Reserves and Community Reserves.

What is the Consumer Protection Act?

The Consumer Protection Act, implemented in 1986, gives easy and fast compensation to consumer grievances. It safeguards and encourages consumers to speak against insufficiency and flaws in goods and services. If traders and manufacturers practice any illegal trade, this act protects their rights as a consumer.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Are security cameras checked?

What are the legal provisions for wildlife protection?

These include Indian Penal Code, 1960; Code of Criminal Procedure, 1974; Indian Forest Act, 1927; Customs Act, 1962; Forest (Conservation) Act, 1981, Environment (Protection) Act, 1986, Prevention of Cruelty to Animal Act, 1960, The Biological Diversity Act, 2002 and Arms Act, 1959 which also has provisions related to …

WHO declares protected?

The central government, if satisfied with the conditions of the specified area, can declare it as a sanctuary or a national park by the notification. The central government has the power to declare sanctuaries or national parks if the government is satisfied by the conditions which are given in section 35.

What is the punishment for hunting and killing a black buck which is a protected animal under the Wildlife Protection Act 1972?

On conviction, he/she can be be punished with imprisonment for a term which may extend upto three years or fine or with both. The law also mentions certain offence for which the imprisonment shall not be less than three years but may extend to seven years and also includes a fine which shall not be less than Rs 10,000.

Why is hunting not allowed in India?

Explanation: Post-Independence, hunting was banned by the government under the Wildlife (Protection) Act, 1972, except for specified purposes such as for self-defence, to prevent crop damage, to counter vermin species and for scientific or educational reasons. Hunting for sport is prohibited in India.