You asked: What are the primary missions of the US Department of Homeland Security list 5?

What are the five main services that the Department of Homeland Security provides?

Under the Secretary’s leadership, DHS is responsible for counterterrorism, cybersecurity, aviation security, border security, port security, maritime security, administration and enforcement of our immigration laws, protection of our national leaders, protection of critical infrastructure, cybersecurity, detection of …

What are the six overarching homeland security missions that make up their strategic plan?

Department of Homeland Security has six overarching homeland security missions that make up its strategic plan: 1) Counter Terrorism and Homeland Security Threats 2) Secure Cyberspace and Critical Infrastructure 3) Strengthen Preparedness and Resilience 4) Secure U.S. Borders and Approaches 5) Preserve and Uphold the …

What are the six key focus areas of the Department of Homeland Security?

The National Strategy for Homeland Security aligns and focuses homeland security functions into six critical mission areas: intelligence and warning, border and transportation security, domestic counterterrorism, protecting critical infrastructure, defending against catastrophic terrorism, and emergency preparedness …

IT IS INTERESTING:  What elements does trademark protect?

What agencies fall under homeland security?

Below is contact information for different Department of Homeland Security components.

  • FEMA.
  • Federal Law Enforcement Training Center.
  • Transportation Security Administration.
  • U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services.
  • U.S. Coast Guard.
  • U.S. Customs and Border Protection.
  • U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement.

What falls under homeland security?

According to Homeland security research, the U.S. federal Homeland Security and Homeland Defense includes 187 federal agencies and departments, including the National Guard of the United States, the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the United States Coast Guard, U.S. Customs and Border Protection, U.S. Immigration

What are the 5 homeland security missions?

DHS has five distinct mission areas related to securing the homeland, which includes the largest law enforcement population in the Federal Government.

  • Law Enforcement Careers.
  • Immigration and Travel Security Careers.
  • Prevention and Response Careers.
  • Mission Support Careers.
  • Cybersecurity Careers.

What jurisdiction does Homeland Security have?

What is the difference between homeland security and homeland defense?

The key difference between the Department of Homeland Defense and the Department of Homeland Security is that Homeland Defense is proactive and works abroad. … While Homeland Security is primarily concerned with homeland issues, it is not excluding from working with Homeland Defense on preventing attacks abroad as well.

What do homeland security agents do?

The primary role of a homeland security agent is to work for the Department of Homeland Security and ensure the safety of all U.S. borders, airports, seaports and other waterways. Outside the U.S., agents may be responsible for handling international affairs and national security initiatives from locations overseas.

IT IS INTERESTING:  You asked: Does the Coast Guard have their own doctors?

What is a six point response plan?

The six-point agenda is structured to guide the department in the near term and result in changes that will: Increase overall preparedness, particularly for catastrophic events. Create better transportation security systems to move people and cargo more securely and efficiently.

How do you get into homeland security?

What Are The Requirements To Be A Homeland Security Agent?

  1. U.S. Citizenship.
  2. Able to pass a criminal background check.
  3. Qualify for a Secret or Top Secret security clearance.
  4. Pass a drug screening.
  5. Pass a polygraph examination.
  6. Pass a version of the civil service exam with a competitive score.
  7. High degree of physical fitness.